India T20 Squad For South Africa

After the ongoing ICC World Cup 2023, India will travel to South Africa for a multi-format series. During India tour of South Africa, a T20I, ODI, and Test series will be played. The IND vs SA T20I series will witness three games and will be played at the start of the tour.

South Africa is a strong side on their home turf. However, Team India has surprised many teams on foreign tours and they will aim for a marvelous performance against the Proteas. Here we talk about India’s probable squad for South Africa T20Is.

India vs South Africa: India T20 Squad For South Africa

Openers- Rohit Sharma & Shubman Gill

Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma (Credits: Twitter)

Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill will be the opener for the team in IND vs SA T20I series. Sharma is the skipper of the team and will lead the team during the tour. He has not played any T20I game this year due to World Cup preparations.

However, he will be back to the shortest format after the ongoing World Cup. Shubman Gill has been impressive in the shortest format, hitting 304 runs in 11 games with 1 ton and 1 fifty.

Also Read: South Africa Squad For ICC World Cup 2023, Schedule 2023, Match List, Team List

Middle-Order Batters- Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav

Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav
Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav (Credits: Twitter)

Two key middle-order batsmen for India against South Africa will be Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav. Kohli did not play any T20I this year but showed a stupendous form in ODIs and Tests. Suryakumar Yadav is the leading run-getter for India in the shortest format this year, smacking 433 runs in 10 innings with 1 ton and 3 half-centuries.

Wicketkeepers- Ishan Kishan & KL Rahul

Ishan Kishan
Ishan Kishan (Image Credit: Twitter)

For wicketkeepers, Ishan Kishan and KL Rahul might be picked in the squad for IND vs SA T20I series. With his wicketkeeping skills in the ongoing World Cup, KL Rahul has proved that he can be a good keeper choice for the team at least in a limited-overs format.

Ishan Kishan played a few T20I games this year but struggled to score runs. However, he showed good form in some ODIs.

Also Read: “Ready To Marry You”- Mohammed Shami Receives Marriage Proposal From Actress After His Wife’s Outrageous Comments

All-Rounders- Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya (Image Credit: Twitter)

Hardik Pandya is the vice-captain of India and will be a pace all-rounder in the squad for South Africa T20Is. Spin all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel are expected to get a place.

Pandya has hit 188 runs and picked 11 wickets across 11 T20Is this year. Patel accounts for 157 runs and 5 wickets in 8 games. Jadeja did not feature in any T20I this year due to World Cup preparations and injuries at the start of the year.

Spinners- Yuzvendra Chahal & Kuldeep Yadav

Kuldeep Yadav, Sri Lanka vs India
Kuldeep Yadav (Image Credit: Twitter)

Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav are the two crucial spinners for India in white-ball formats currently and are likely to get a place in IND vs SA T20I series. Both have done a decent job in T20Is this year. While right-arm spinner Chahal accounts for 9 wickets in 9 games, left-armer Yadav has bagged 8 scalps across 7 matches.

Also Read: Watch – Dawid Malan’s Disastrous Run-Out After Mix-Up With Ben Stokes

Pacers- Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah (Image Credit: Twitter)

Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj will be two key pacers for India. Bumrah returned to the field a few months back during the Ireland series. He has been very impressive with his bowling since his return. Siraj has also impressed with his performance.

Mohammed Shami and Arshdeep Singh will be another two pacers. Shami has won hearts with his pace attack in the ongoing World Cup. Left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh has been a consistent performer in the shortest format and can be inducted into the T20I series against South Africa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *