Never Dreamt Of Becoming No.1 T20I Bowler

The 23-year-old India National Cricket Team leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi reacted to becoming the No.1 ranked bowler in the ICC Men’s T20I Rankings, saying that he never dreamt of achieving the feat.

Bishnoi, who made his international debut at the start of last year, has delivered sensational performances for India in T20I cricket. Recently, Ravi Bishnoi bagged 9 wickets at an average of 18.22 and an economy of 8.20 in the five-match T20I series against Australia.

He was also awarded ‘Player of the Series’ for his stunning performances. Overall, he has picked 34 wickets from 21 T20I matches since debuting against the West Indies in February 2022.

Speaking in a video shared by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on their official X handle, Ravi Bishnoi said that he never dreamt about becoming the No.1 ranked bowler in the ICC Rankings and it is an out-of-the-world feeling for him. He said:

“It is an out-of-the-world feeling. To become the number one bowler, I never dreamt of this. Now that I’m there, I’m feeling good about it and I hope to continue performing for the team and helping the team win.”

This is more of the efforts from the last five years coming to fruition – Ravi Bishnoi

Ravi Bishnoi said that his journey in international cricket has been filled with ups and downs but he has enjoyed it. He said:

“I debuted on February 15 and the journey has had its ups and downs but the last 1-1.5 years have been good since I got to play some good games, played in the Asian Games and Asia Cup as well.”

Ravi Bishnoi further said that his achievements today are the result of his hard work over the last five years. He said:

“It has been that I got opportunities and when I do I hope to play well. This is more of the efforts from the last five years coming to fruition. Now after that, it has been good so far and I am enjoying it.”

Ravi Bishnoi will be next seen in action when India lock horns with South Africa in a three-match T20I series. The T20I matches will be played on December 10, 12, and 14 in Durban, Gqeberha and Johannesburg.

India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *